Orthodox Christianity 101

Holy Mysteries

The Holy Mysteries, or sacraments, of the Orthodox Church are sacred rites instituted by Christ to convey God's grace and presence to believers, enabling them to participate in the divine life and grow in holiness. Rooted in Scripture and Tradition, the sacraments signify and effect spiritual realities, uniting the faithful with Christ and incorporating them into the life of the Church. The seven principal sacraments—baptism, chrismation, Eucharist, confession, marriage, holy orders, and anointing of the sick—mediate the transformative power of the Holy Spirit for salvation and sanctification. Each sacrament corresponds to a specific stage of the Christian life, from initiation into the Church to the reception of divine healing and the vocation to holy orders. Through the sacraments, believers receive the grace of God for the forgiveness of sins, the empowerment for Christian witness, and the nourishment of their souls for eternal life. The sacraments are celebrated within the context of liturgical worship and communal prayer, underscoring their communal and ecclesial dimension and their centrality to the Christian life.
Orthodox Church

We have a few great resources on the sacraments. Here's one talking more in-depth about each of the sacraments.

Holy Communion (Eucharist)

What does Communion signify to Orthodox Christians

Reconciliation (Confession)

Why Orthodox Christians have confession


Infant Baptism in Orthodoxy

History of Orthodox Christianity
Learn our history

Other Orthodox Concepts

More Concepts

Learning more about Orthodox Christianity? Subscribe and stay awhile.